## STATE OF MINNESOTA

## IN SUPREME COURT

## C6-89-2248

## Order Establishing the Criminal Courts Study Commission and Appointing Members

ORDER

WHEREAS, 1989 Minn. Laws, Chapter 335, Article 3, Section 41, authorizes the Supreme Court to establish a commission to study ways to more expeditiously dispose of criminal cases and report its conclusions to the Supreme Court by January 1, 1991; and

WHEREAS, the expeditious disposition of criminal cases can contribute to a higher quality of justice without sacrificing fair outcome and without denying due process of the law; and

WHEREAS, the Conference of Chief Judges, through its continuing efforts to actively manage the trial court caseload, has identified the timely disposition of criminal cases as essential to the effective administration of justice;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that a Criminal Courts Study Commission is established to examine:

- Whether systems, rules and statutes of other jurisdictions provide alternative models which would simplify procedures and expedite the processing of criminal cases without sacrificing fair outcome;
- Whether certain kinds of minor offenses should be decriminalized and subjected to an administrative process, with the option of enhancing the matter to a misdemeanor if prior judgments have been entered against a party;
- 3. Whether the petty misdemeanor category should be expanded to replace current misdemeanor offenses in some instances, with criteria for enhancing a petty misdemeanor to a misdemeanor in specified circumstances; and
- 4. Whether other administrative or legislative action can be

taken to facilitate the expeditious disposition of criminal and juvenile cases without sacrifice of due process of law. The commission shall file its report with the Supreme Court on or before January 1, 1991.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the following persons are hereby appointed to serve on the commission:

Edwin J. Butterfoss Hamline University School of Law 1536 Hewitt Avenue St. Paul, MN 55104 (612) 641-2141

Honorable James M. Campbell Second Judicial District Court Judge 1633 Ramsey County Courthouse St. Paul, MN 55102 (612) 298-4101

Kenneth V. Collins Maplewood Chief of Police 1830 East County Road B Maplewood, MN 55109 (612) 770-4533

Martin J. Costello Attorney at Law 101 East Fifth Street, #2100 St. Paul, MN 55101 (612) 224-4703

Willard B. Crowley Attorney at Law Hennepin County Bar Association 430 Marquette Avenue, Suite 402 Minneapolis, MN 55402 (612) 340-0022

Michael Cunnif Bureau of Community Corrections C-2353 Government Center Minneapolis, MN 55487 (612) 348-8982

Honorable Michael J. Davis Fourth Judicial District Court Judge 12-C Government Center Minneapolis, MN 55487 (612) 348-3677

Debora K. Ellis Attorney at Law 345 St. Peter Street, Suite 300 St. Paul, MN 55102 (612) 227-0856 John D. Erskine Richfield Department of Public Safety 6700 Portland Avenue South Richfield, MN 55423 (612) 861-9810

Greg M. Ess Scott County Court Administrator Scott County Courthouse Shakopee, MN 55379 (612) 496-8200

Honorable Donovan W. Frank Sixth Judicial District Court Judge St. Louis County Courthouse Virginia, MN 55792 (218) 749-7142

William J. Gatten Hennepin County Legal Rights Center 808 East Franklin Minneapolis, MN 55404 (612) 871-4886

James T. Hankes First Assistant Public Defender-Ramsey County 900 American National Bank Building St. Paul, MN 55101 (612) 298-5797

Honorable Doris Ohlsen Huspeni Minnesota Court of Appeals 1300 Landmark Towers St. Paul, MN 55102 (612) 297-1014

Debra Jacobsen Assistant Olmsted County Attorney Courthouse Rochester, MN 55904 (507) 285-8138

Representative Randy C. Kelly Chair, House Judiclary Committee 509 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 296-4277 David Knutson First Asst. Hennepin County Public Defender 2300-C Government Center Minneapolis, MN 55487 (612) 348-6310

Mark N. Lystig Assistant Ramsey County Attorney 350 St. Peter Street, Suite 350 St. Paul, MN 55102 (612) 298-4421

John E. MacGibbon Sherburne County Attorney 321 Lowell Elk River, MN 55330 (612) 441-1383

Ronald I. Meshbesher Attorney at Law 1616 Park Avenue South Minneapolis, MN 55404 (612) 339-9121

Honorable James A. Morrow Tenth Judicial District Court Judge Anoka County Courthouse Anoka, MN 55303 (612) 422-7471 Orville B. Pung Commissioner, Department of Corrections 459 North Syndicate Street St. Paul, MN 55104 (612) 642-0282

Candace Rasmussen Third District Public Defender P. O. Box 886 Winona, MN 55987 (507) 454-2590

Salvador M. Rosas Executive Director Neighborhood Justice Center 500 Laurel Avenue St. Paul, MN 55102 (612) 222-4703

Sonya Steven Assistant Hennepin County Attorney Hennepin County Attorney's Office 2000-C Government Center Minneapolis, MN 55487 (612) 348-3099

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Martin J. Costello, Attorney at Law, shall serve as chairperson of the commission and that Michael B. Johnson, Office of the State Court Administrator, shall serve as staff to the commission.

Dated: December 29, 1989

BY THE COURT

Peter S. Popovich

Chief Justice of the Supreme Court

of the State of Minnesota